In the United States, 10,511 people died in alcohol-involved accidents in 2018. In addition, 985 people died and 74,963 received injuries in drunk driving incidents in Michigan in 2019.
In Michigan, drinking and driving citations are OWI citations or operating while intoxicated. This is the determination and penalties of an OWI in Michigan.
OWI misdemeanors and felonies
Drivers with a blood alcohol level of .08 or more or those who drive with a controlled substance in their systems receive a misdemeanor charge. However, a third OWI conviction in Michigan is a felony. In addition, if children are in the vehicle and have received a prior conviction, the second OWI charge is a felony. If intoxicated individuals have an automobile accident where individuals receive injuries or die, they receive felony OWI charges.
Those convicted of their first OWI may have to pay up to $500 in fines, spend 93 days in jail and complete community service of up to 360 hours. The judge may order the locking of the convicted driver’s ignition duration of their probation period.
A second OWI conviction could result in up to one year in jail, at least 30 days of community service, ignition lock and mobilization and a fine of up to $1,000. The third offense is a felony and can result in five years in prison. These individuals may also receive fines of up to $5,000 and at least 60 days of community service. They may have their ignitions locked during probation and the judge may order that their vehicles remain immobile.
Those convicted of any OWI have their licenses suspended for at least 30 days. The best way to prevent a conviction is to never drive after imbibing.