Penalties For Marijuana-Related Drug Crimes In Michigan
Distribution Or Use Of More Than The Allowed Amount (2.5 Ounces) For Persons 21 Years Of Age Or Older
Marijuana use: $100 fine for public use (civil infraction)
Marijuana use (under 21): $100 fine or community service. If the individual is under 18, the penalty is a $100 fine or community service and four hours of drug counseling or drug education as well as the forfeiture of the marijuana (civil infraction).
Marijuana use, second violation (under 21): maximum $500 fine or community service and drug counseling
Distribution of not more than twice the amount allowed, first violation: maximum $500 fine and forfeiture of marijuana (civil infraction)
Distribution, second violation: $1,000 maximum fine and revocation of marijuana (civil infraction)
Distribution, third violation: $2,000 maximum fine and revocation of marijuana (misdemeanor offense)
The state of Michigan considers distribution or use of more than twice the allowed amount to be a misdemeanor offense, and an individual may be imprisoned if the violation is considered to be “habitual, willful, and for a commercial purpose or the violation involved violence.”.
Cultivating less than 20 marijuana plants: felony crime, up to four years in prison and fines of up to $20,000
Cultivating between 20 and 200 marijuana plants: felony crime, up to seven years in prison and fines of up to $500,000
Cultivating 200 or more marijuana plants: felony crime, up to 15 years in prison and fines of up to $10 million
For marijuana growers and marijuana microbusinesses, criminal charges may be filed if the establishment cultivates more plants than is allotted for their class. Class A establishments may cultivate no more than 100 plants. Class B establishments may not cultivate more than 500 plants, and an establishment with class C status is not authorized to cultivate more than 2,000 marijuana plants. (Michigan Regulation And Taxation of Marijuana Act, 333.27959 Sec. 9. 2.)
For medical marijuana, individuals who possess or cultivate more than 12 marijuana plants may face criminal charges. (Michigan Regulation And Taxation of Marijuana Act, 333.27955 Sect. 5. 1(b)). Penalties can include a civil infraction and “may be punished by a fine of not more than $500 and forfeiture of the [marijuana]” for a first offense. A second offense can also result in a civil infraction with the possibility of a fine of not more than $1,000 and forfeiture of the marijuana. If the individual is charged with a third or subsequent offense, that individual is charged with a misdemeanor which can result in no more than a $2,000 fine along with forfeiture of the marijuana. (Michigan Regulation And Taxation of Marijuana Act, Sec. 15 1..
Selling less than 5 kilograms of marijuana: felony crime, up to four years in prison and fines of up to $20,000
Selling between 5 kilograms and 45 kilograms of marijuana: felony crime, up to seven years in prison and fines of up to $500,000
Selling 45 kilograms or more of marijuana: felony crime, up to 15 years in prison and fines of up to $10 million
A drug crime conviction can have unanticipated consequences on your personal life. A criminal record may have an impact on your job and where you live. If you are a parent, a criminal record may impact child custody arrangements.
Contact Our Criminal Defense Lawyers
It is important to work with an experienced criminal defense attorney if you have been charged with any marijuana crime. At Williams & Associates, we understand Michigan drug crime laws, and we have more than 35 years of experience helping people overcome serious criminal offenses. We will work hard to get you the best results possible.